Black & White Photo Collection: A Colorful Approach

“I think it’s because it was an emotional story, and emotions come through much stronger in black and white. Colour is distracting in a way, it pleases the eye but it doesn’t necessarily reach the heart.” ― Kim Hunter

From the moment I fell in love with photography, monochromatic photos have always captured my heart. It is not about the color, it is about the emotion and the overall impact that the photo brings. It is as if I am seeing more colors in black and white photographs than in the colored ones.

 

©18Megapixel
2017

37 thoughts on “Black & White Photo Collection: A Colorful Approach

  1. What a great collection of black and white photographs. I also think color is distracting at times and feel black and white photographs have depth and more emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The less color you see the more emotion you perceive. I think, I would agree at this. Things should not be that colorful that it hurts the eyes. Sometimes, it just needs to be an artistic touch of emotion. Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know what you mean! I’ve always thought the the removal of colors takes away the distraction from the story that a photo is trying to convey. It is much more intense and the impact much stronger than looking at the colored ones.

    and would make you focus more on the story a photo is trying to convey. Have said that I love all of the photos you posted here especially the one of Apo Whang-Od. I just love that woman’s smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Naks naman! True na true! 🙂 I feel you, kuya Mike! There’s so much more when there’s just black and white. I see it as more dramatic. Well, kelan na ulit tayo magta-travel ne? Sayang ang travel funds! Hehehe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are some amazing photographs! The pic of a girl clicking the water fountain in front of her is the one I liked the best. And not to mention about the ones with water droplets! Perfect timing! Keep it going!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have really interesting images in here. I am also a photographer and just take in Black and white as well! It is much more beautiful and artistic in my way to see and think. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So beautiful. I always find black and white pictures very charming. Specially as a collection. I have a collection of black and white pictures (deliberately converted to black and white actually) of my family, hanging in my dining space. And I have got countless appreciations for that

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

